Rules Additions

Holy Symbols

Each god will have their own holy symbol(s). These a numinous symbols which increase the presence of the god within a specific area. Fur game purposes, this results in a modification to Ritual EML's of their faithful within that area. It is assumed that, when people call upon their god for either invocation or intervention, they have at least a rudimentary symbol of their god in the possession. Better symbols will offer increases to Ritual EML, while having no symbol will result in penalties to Ritual EML. There are four classes of symbol, as follows:
I No symbol. -15 to Ritual EML.
II Basic. No change.
III Detailed/well adorned. +05 to Ritual EML.
IV Symbolic in every way./
An astounding work of art.
+15 to Ritual EML.
The specifics for what constitutes each class varies by god. For example, for a Halean, the levels would be as follows: Of course, with some deities, such material variations would be immaterial; however, in most churches and sects, such material variations are in fact useful and reflective of the deity's favor.

Note also that statuary, censers, tapestries or other holy objects may constitute symbols of this type. When two or more objects are used to benefit Ritual EML, use the better of the two for the actual effect.

The process of creating a holy symbol has basically two steps; actual creation of the mundane object itself, and consecrating it. The priest usually has little to do with the mundane part of the process. This step will determine the basic class to which the object belongs, but not the class to which it will finally belong.

The consecration requires the performance of a ritual, the success or failure of which will determine the final level of the object, as follows.
CF: The object is either actually destroyed through divine disfavor (10%) or merely worthless in the eyes of the god.
MF: The object becomes holy, but is now of one class lower than its materials would normally dictate. Thus, an MF when trying to consecrate a simple wooden Sarajinian whale-symbol makes it effectively worthless.
MS: The object is now holy, and is of the class normally dictated by its materials.
CS: The object is now holy, and is of one class higher than its materials would normally dictate. Thus, very mundane things could possibly be made to be very powerful symbols. Also, roll again against Ritual ML, with no modifiers. If the result is another CS, the object may (at GM's discretion) be a holy artifact withsome sort of holy powers, often permanently embodying some invocation (again at GM's discretion).

Holy Sanctums

Places, as well as objects, may be made holy. The classes for holy places are basically the same as those for holy objects. The associated ritual is different, but the resolution is the same as above. Note that, when there are available multiple holy objects and/or places, only the highest takes effect.

Written by Rachel Kronick. Converted to HTML by Magnus Lyckå 17 October 1995